A high street renaissance?

Photo of Amanda Parker
29 Nov 2019

Amanda Parker asks whether the arts can really save our high streets.

Covid-19: Freelancers need our support

11 Mar 2020

Amid the hand wringing and the hand washing, let’s not forget the workforce, says Amanda Parker.

'Overambitious' about placemaking? We've only just started...

05 Mar 2020

The Great Place Scheme demonstrates how projects flourish when official bodies allow them freedom from pre-determined outcomes, says Jill Cole.

It’s true: courage is contagious

Photo of Amanda Parker
27 Feb 2020

We need to find ways to support – and hear – honest, respectful difference of opinion. That’s why we’re launching We Hear You, says Amanda Parker.

‘Art’ or ‘culture’? Let’s scrap both

A photo of a man holding a sword over a painting and a fallen statue
27 Feb 2020

After centuries of trying to define the arts and culture, we remain deeply confused about what they are and their benefits, says Liam Dee.

I shouldn’t have been ‘cancelled’ for my vulgar jokes

A photo of a punk performance by Jayne County
20 Feb 2020

Yes, my crude social media posts may have caused offence – but we can't only allow speech we find agreeable, says Manick Govinda.

Birmingham must embrace its Heavy Metal heritage

A photo of rows of T shirts with Heavy Metal logos
13 Feb 2020

Regeneration is all very well – but it is only through celebrating its authentic working class culture that the city can discover a beating heart and soul, says Lisa Meyer.

Quotas alone won't achieve gender equality

A photo of three women singing
09 Jan 2020

Setting targets helps, but wider strategies are needed to dispel the sense of novelty value that still surrounds female musicians. We need to normalise their presence on stage and behind the scenes, writes Kate Lowes.

Crisis or opportunity?

13 Dec 2019

Arts and culture will need to prove their worth to other sectors if they are to survive under a Conservative government.

Classical music must face up to abuse

A close up of a hand and a violin
06 Dec 2019

Harassment will continue until institutions are willing to take difficult decisions, says Jonathan Knott.

Diversity and inclusion: why are we still talking about it?

A room of people listening to a speaker
28 Nov 2019

A reluctance to self-reflect and a tendency to recruit in our own image are at the root of the sector’s failure to employ a workforce that reflects the wider working population, says Sara Whybrew.

We need more welfare funding of the arts – literally

19 Nov 2019

If the arts sector really has faith in everyday creativity, it should put its money where its mouth is, writes Jonathan Knott.

What will Ed do next?

08 Nov 2019

What might the UK's longest serving Culture Minister take as his next step? Amanda Parker makes some suggestions.

And they’re off…

A photo of the Houses of Parliament in London
01 Nov 2019

How many of us working in the arts are keeping quiet about how we really feel, asks Amanda Parker.

Is diverse leadership really welcome in the arts?

A photo of the Royal Festival Hall in London
25 Oct 2019

Madani Younis' exit from Southbank Centre exposes uncomfortable truths about the arts sector's attitude to workforce diversity, says Amanda Parker.

A sticking plaster policy

14 Oct 2019

Before praising the Culture Secretary for “responding so positively” to the financial crisis facing the cultural sector, Arts Council England would do well to take a step back and review its own evidence, says Liz Hill.

Relaxed performances: why the sector has to do better

A photo of the audience at Shakespeare's Globe
10 Oct 2019

Far from being a niche concern, increasing the number of accessible shows would benefit millions of people across the UK, says Jess Thom.

No access, no public funding?

photo of Andrew Miller beside Jeremy Miller's Peterloo Memorial in Manchester
19 Sep 2019

Five years after first highlighting discriminatory attitudes in ArtsProfessional, the Government’s Disability Champion for Arts and Culture Andrew Miller reflects on progress towards inclusion.

Think self-care isn’t for you? Think again

Woman looking up
19 Sep 2019

Articulating our individual needs is important for everyone – especially those at the top of organisations, says Suzanne Alleyne.

How can we make festivals greener?

Protesters stopping traffic holding a 'Rebel for life' banner
19 Sep 2019

Festivals can have all the recycling schemes and sustainable policies in the world, but it’s getting workforce and attendees on board that will really make a difference, writes Damon Culbert.

Pages

Subscribe to Opinion