Familiar arts names join unsung heros in the New Year’s Honours list.

Erica Whyman
Erica Whyman, who has been awarded an OBE

The Director General of National Galleries of Scotland, John Mark Nicholas Leighton, receives a knighthood in the 2013 New Year’s Honours list. The Deputy Director of Tate, Alexander Charles Beard, Cultural Olympiad Director Ruth Mackenzie, and Chairman of Southbank Sinfonia, Michael Berman, have all been decorated with CBEs. Among the OBEs conferred are Pauline Etkin, Chief Executive of Nordoff-Robbins, for services to music therapy; Jennifer Ann Cooke,for services to musical theatre and to the community in Northern Ireland; Erica Whyman, Chief Executive of Northern Stage; (Pictured) producer and director Nica Burns; Darren Henley, Managing Director of Classic FM and author of the Henley Review of Cultural Education; and Wilfred Ainsworth Walker for services to the promotion and development of live black music. Among those receiving MBEs were Catherine Greig, General Manager of The Travelling Light Theatre Company; founder of Brick Lane Music Hall, Vincent Hayes; Patricia Cumper, playwright and Artistic Director of Talawa Theatre Company; and Cassa Pancho, Artistic Director and founder of Ballet Black. The newly reintroduced British Empire Medal recognises the work of Norman Cutter, Margaret Davies, Bridget Meyler, Shirley Williams and Geoffrey Winter – all for services to music in their local communities.