Membership of the new 15-strong Council for England?s yet-to-be-named arts funding organisation, created by the merger of the Arts Council of England and the English Regional Arts Boards, has been announced by Culture Secretary Tessa Jowell.
Chairman Gerry Robinson will be joined by only five members new to senior positions in the arts funding system, the other nine places being taken by four former members of the Arts Council of England (Deborah Bull, Joanna McGregor, Brian McMaster and William Sieghart) and five former Chairs of Regional Arts Boards (Tom Bloxham ? North West; Sue Woodford Hollick ? London; Professor Alan Livingston ? South West; Stephen Lowe ? East Midlands; and Stuart Timperley ? East England).These five will also become regional chairs of their respective regional councils, full membership of which will be announced in the summer.The new faces will also assume regional roles. They are Sir Norman Adsetts, Chairman of Sheffield Theatres Trust; Paul Collard, Head of Programme Development for Newcastle Gateshead Initiative; Deborah Grubb, freelance arts consultant and Chair of Gardner Arts Centre, Brighton; Elsie Owusu, founder member and Chair of the Society of Black Architects; and Dorothy Wilson, Artistic Director and Chief Executive of mac, Birmingham.