Deputy Labour leader becomes Shadow Culture Secretary

Photo of Tom Watson
10 Oct 2016

TOM WATSON has become the Labour Party’s sixth Shadow Culture Secretary since May 2015. He replaces KELVIN HOPKINS, who was removed after just three months in post.

Ed Vaizey sacked in Government reshuffle

Photo of Ed Vaizey
18 Jul 2016

The UK’s longest serving Culture Minister ED VAIZEY, who has been in post since 2010, has been sacked in the Government reshuffle alongside Culture Secretary JOHN WHITTINGDALE.

Maria Eagle resigns as Shadow Culture Secretary

Photo of Maria Eagle
28 Jun 2016

Shadow Culture Secretary MARIA EAGLE has stepped down. She has been replaced by KELVIN HOPKINS, who was Co-Chair of the Labour Leave campaign in the run up to the EU referendum.

ACE restructures Executive Board

25 May 2016

Ahead of the departure of Deputy Chief Executive ALTHEA EFUNSHILE, Arts Council England (ACE) is restructuring its Executive Board

Michelle Walker to join Greenwich+Docklands Festival

Photo of Michelle Walker
19 Jan 2017

Artistic Director of Hat Fair, MICHELLE WALKER, is to leave her current role in March to join Greenwich and Docklands Festival as Executive Director.

Birmingham’s Grand Union selects new Chair

Photo of Dorothy Wilson
19 Jan 2017

Contemporary art gallery Grand Union has appointed DOROTHY WILSON MBE, formerly Artistic Director and Chief Executive of mac birmingham, as Chair of its Board of Directors.

Antonia Byatt to leave Cheltenham Festivals

19 Jan 2017

Cheltenham Festivals’ Literature Festival Director, ANTONIA BYATT, is to leave after less than a year in the role as a result of “operational efficiencies” and business restructuring.

New chair for AMA

Photo of Tim Wood
19 Jan 2017

TIM WOOD, former Marketing Director at Rambert, has become the Arts Marketing Association’s new Chair. He has been an AMA board member for seven years, and Vice Chair since 2012.

First ever International Chair of Opera at RNCM

Photo of Graham Vick
19 Jan 2017

GRAHAM VICK CBE, Founder and Artistic Director of the Birmingham Opera Company, is to become the Royal Northern College of Music’s first International Chair of Opera from September 2017.

New role for Mark Ball

19 Jan 2017

Artistic Director of LIFT since 2009, MARK BALL has been appointed Associate Artistic Director at Manchester International Festival. He will start full-time from June.

Times arts journalist joins Chichester Festival Theatre

19 Jan 2017

Previously Theatre Critic and Arts Journalist at the Independent on Sunday and The Times, KATE BASSETT has been appointed Literary Associate at Chichester Festival Theatre.

Youth Music Theatre UK expands

19 Jan 2017

KATE MILLINGTON and TRUDY LISTER have joined Youth Music Theatre, becoming Fundraising Officer and Development Consultant respectively, as part of the organisation’s new Development team.

UK Music Chief Executive to step down

Jo Dipple
19 Jan 2017

After five years in the role, UK Music Chief Executive JO DIPPLE is to step down in June 2017.

Dr Tristram Hunt appointed Director of the V&A

13 Jan 2017

Labour MP TRISTRAM HUNT has been appointed Director of London’s V&A museum.

Aberystwyth Arts Centre Director resigns

12 Jan 2017

Director of Aberystwyth Arts Centre since 2013, GARETH LLOYD ROBERTS has decided to step down to go to “pastures new”.

Everyman Theatre Cheltenham CEO to step down

Photo of Geoffrey Rowe
12 Jan 2017

GEOFFREY ROWE, Chief Executive of the Everyman Theatre in Cheltenham since 2006, is to leave the organisation at the end of March to pursue other interests and work on freelance projects.

Kevin Wood to leave First Family Entertainment

12 Jan 2017

Chief Executive of First Family Entertainment, KEVIN WOOD will be steppping down at the end of the pantomime season after 12 years with the company.

New chair announced for PRS

Photo of Nigel Elderton
12 Jan 2017

Managing Director and European President of peermusic, NIGEL ELDERTON, has become the new Chair of PRS. He succeeds GUY FLETCHER OBE, who steps down after six years in the role.

Anthony Lilley takes over as Blast Theory chair

Anthony Lilley
12 Jan 2017

Blast Theory has announced that ANTHONY LILLEY OBE is to be its new Chair of the Board, taking over from CELIA DAVIES, Director of Photoworks and curator of Brighton Photo Biennial, who has led the Board since 201

ATG appoints new Marketing Director

12 Jan 2017

OLIVER CLARK has joined the Ambassador Theatre Group as Group Marketing Director. He accompanies HERVÉ HANNEQUIN, formerly of advertising company AMVBBDO, who becomes Group Customer Officer.


Subscribe to Arts People